Administrative Affairs Committee Members

Note: This is a new committee, combining much of the work previously the responsibility of a number of committees including BECRTF, CAPR, UK Charity Compliance

Background and Relationship with IPA Strategic Objectives

As a corporate body, the IPA has to undertake a number of administrative and governance activities which are not directly connected to its core purposes. In many organisations, there is a tendency for committees responsible for these types of issues to expand over time and they can consume considerable resources. By grouping together a number of committees with responsibilities (some overlapping) in governance work, it is intended to provide a single place where these tasks can be dealt with efficiently.


Regulation and compliance

  1. To ensure that the IPA is operating within the law, under the supervision of its main regulatory bodies (the Charity Commission of England & Wales, and Companies House), advising the Board on any issues that may arise;
  2. To review from time to time the IPA's governance structure and jurisdiction, to ensure that the IPA is optimally efficient and secure.


  1. When requested by the Officers, Executive Committee or the Board, to ensure the good governance of the IPA by advising on any issues related to the IPA's Articles, Rules or Procedural Code or any proposed changes;
  2. To propose to the Executive Committee any changes to the Articles, Rules or Procedural Code that may seem appropriate to the committee.

Administration including IT

  1. To work with the Executive Director to ensure that Broomhills is operating as efficiently and effectively as possible, including the alignment of staffing resources with strategic priorities in the short- and long-term.
  2. To advise the Officers, Executive Committee or the Board on any issues related to Information Technology and its application or potential application to IPA work.

Sub-Committees and Task Forces

IT sub-committee

    The Committee, without reference to any other body, may form an IT Sub-Committee if it chooses to do so; members may be selected from among the current members of the Administrative Affairs Committee. If it is wished to appoint any other members, the President must be asked to nominate (and the Board to approve) appointments in the usual way.

Other sub-committees

    The Committee may at any time request the President to form other sub-committees.

Task Forces

    The Committee without reference to any other body may form one or more Task Forces to deal with any specific governance issue appropriate to its Mandate, including (but not limited to) an inquiry from one of its Regulators; drafting proposed revisions to the Articles, Rules or Procedural Code; reviewing an aspect of the application of Information Technology ; etc. Each Task Force must have a specific time limit and Mandate, must include the Vice President, the Treasurer and the Executive Director along with any other members from among the membership of the Committee, and must report to the Committee at the end of their work. Up to two specialist consultants who are not also members of the Committee may be appointed (it is expected that this provision may be most useful for ensuring there are sufficient UK members available to deal with any UK based regulatory work).

Ways of working and reporting

    The Committee shall conduct the majority of its work electronically and resort to a face-to-face meeting when necessary. The Chair of the Committee will provide a written report to the Board at least annually.


    This is a permanent committee. Members will normally be appointed with an expectation that they will serve a six year term, although initially part of the committee will be appointed for a three year term to ensure appropriate refreshment and staggered terms.

Composition of the committee

    The committee shall consist of the President, Vice President and Treasurer, plus a Chair and six further Members (two from each Region). The Executive Director shall be the non-voting Secretary.


    The committee shall take control of any unspent budgets allocated for 2013 to CAPR and BECRTF.

Approved by the Board August 2013.

Amended by the Board January 2014.

NameCommittee PositionFrom dateCountrySociety
Dr. Arthur Sheldon LeonoffChair8/2/2013CanadaCanadian Psychoanalytic Society104726
Dr. Altamirando Matos de AndradeMember11/25/2013BrazilBrazilian Psychoanalytic Society of Rio de Janeiro100219
Dr. Henk Jan DalewijkMember8/2/2013NetherlandsDutch Psychoanalytical Society101825
Prof. Shmuel ErlichMember11/25/2013IsraelIsrael Psychoanalytic Society102289
Dr. Mary Kay O'NeilMember11/25/2013CanadaCanadian Psychoanalytic Society105918
Psic. Adriana PrenglerMember1/28/2014United StatesNorthwestern Psychoanalytic Society and Institute109892
Lic. Silvia Adriana ResnizkyMember12/30/2013ArgentinaBuenos Aires Psychoanalytic Association106654
Mrs. Alexandra BillinghurstEx-Officio8/1/2013SwedenSwedish Psychoanalytical Association143259
Dr. Stefano BologniniEx-Officio8/1/2013ItalyItalian Psychoanalytical Society100918
Mr. Paul CrakeEx-Officio8/1/2013United Kingdom 157979
Dr. med. Juan Carlos WeissmannEx-Officio8/1/2013ArgentinaArgentine Psychoanalytic Association108627